Terrain tile system

I really liked the faux fur way of making terrain that is easy to store. However I wanted a flexible system that could allow for different map configurations. I decided to make “tiles” that can be laid out in a variety of configurations. The terrain tiles are 30″ x 30″. I chose 30″ because that is standard table width. The concept is built around the idea that on 15″ centers there is a “join”. That can be a road, a trail or otherwise. I made the roads 6″ wide (including grass berms and such) because the fences I have bought are all in 6″ lengths. So with a 6″ wide road I have 12″ on either side, perfect for 2 x 6″ fence pieces.

Using fences at the seams of the terrain tiles is important imo, it makes the change in color look much more natural when there is a fence there.

I also made some 6″ x 30″ road pieces, some straight and some with intersections and T Junctions.

I applied the same concept to my rivers that I had made by Joe Linares from Wargamers’ Terrain. Joe was superb to deal with and his stone walls and deluxe rivers are the best I’ve been able to find. I had them made with 12″ as the standard length and 6″ long fjords. That way the fjords will connect with the joins in the terrain tiles. You can see a trail connecting to a river fjord in one of the pics below.

The crude photos below show my original design, I cut out some graph paper and glued it to cardboard. I rotated things around to prove out the concept, then started building the terrain tiles form Faux fur. This gentleman’s site was an inspiration and invaluable resource: http://www.elladan.de/. I am a total hack in comparison!

Cardboard scale prototype of terrain tile system
Cardboard scale prototype of terrain tile system
Cardboard scale prototype of terrain tile system in a different configuration
Cardboard scale prototype of terrain tile system in a different configuration

I have been building out the tiles, I think I’ve got 8 or 9 tiles done now. I am working toward the Prokhorovka madness below… 18 tiles on 9 tables!

Prokhorovka Terrain Tile Layout
Prokhorovka Terrain Tile Layout – 15 feet long and 8.5 feet wide!
One thought on “Terrain tile system

Leave a Reply

